Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Stormwater Plan Certification - SWPPP Certifications

Under most State and EPA stormwater permitting rules, a Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) may need to be certified. This SWPPP Certification is in addition to other types of certifications that may be required. The types of certifications will vary depending on the State and type of permit; in addition to SWPPP Certification, other types of certifications might include:

  • Non-stormwater Discharge Certification,
  • No-exposure Monitoring Exemption Certification;
  • Heavy Metal No-exposure Certification (in Texas);
  • Site Compliance Certifications;
  • Endangered Species Certifications;
  • Historic Places Certification;
  • Others.

SWPPP Certification
In most cases, the SWPPP Certification statement indicates that the SWPPP has been 1) prepared; 2) implemented and that 3) the SWPPP conforms to the requirements of the discharge permit. The SWPPP Certification generally includes a statement that the information documented is correct. The exact wording and scope of the certification statement will vary from State-to-State.

Who must certify the SWPPP?
In some States (for example, Michigan, Indiana, Connecticut and others), the SWPPP needs to be signed by a certified or qualified environmental professional.

In most States, the SWPPP also needs to be signed by a Responsible Company Officer, or his/her duly authorized representative. State or EPA rules will determine who can sign the SWPPP. This SWPPP Certification can be in addition to any certifications needed by a qualified environmental professional.

Caltha LLP provides expert technical support to private and public sector clients in developing stormwater pollution prevention programs to meet regulatory requirements.

[Read more about State-specific SWPPP Templates

[Read more about Stormwater Training - SWPPP Training]

For further information contact Caltha LLP at
Caltha LLP Website

No comments: